» Windscript

Windscript is the annual magazine of high school writing published by the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild since 1983. The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild is proud to support the fresh, original work of student writers. We thank, in advance, the teachers and librarians who encourage their students to submit their creations for the upcoming issue.

SWG Advertising Rates

Call for Submissions

We welcome students to submit creative writing in any and all forms including poetry, prose, and creative nonfiction.

Please note that as in all writing competitions, these guidelines are important and must be followed in order for a submission to be accepted.

Submission Guidelines

1. Submissions are open to Saskatchewan-based high school students.

2. Always keep a copy of your submitted work. Submissions will not be returned.

3. Writers must submit their own work directly - submissions cannot be made by a third party (such as a parent or teacher).

4. Proofread your manuscript.

5. Submit a maximum of six poems and/or a maximum of two prose works (each piece must not exceed 1500 words)

  • Do not put more than one poem on a page. 
  • Type each piece in 12 pt. plain text font (such as Times New Roman, Arial, or Courier), and double space.
  • Number each page.
  • Put the title on each submission and each page of the manuscript. 
  • Please format your file names as follows: magazine_title_genre (example: Windscript_PoemOne_Poetry).
  • Submit documents in .doc format only. Please do not submit PDFs.

6. All work must be original from start to finish. Writers submitting plagiarized work will be banned from Windscript.

7. In a cover letter, provide the following information:     

  • Your name, your home phone number, mailing address, and email
  • The genre of writing you are submitting (fiction, poetry, non-fiction)
  • The title(s) of your poems or stories
  • The name, address, and phone number of your school and your teacher's name and email address
  • If under 18, the name, email, phone number of your parent/guardian
  • A fifty-word biography written in the third person (if we publish your work, we will use this information, so be creative)

8. Submit by email to Put Windscript in the subject line.

9. If your piece(s) are selected, they will go through an editing process with the Windscript editor before the final publication.


January 15, 2021

If email is unavailable submissions can be mailed to:

Box 3986
Regina, SK  S4P 3R9

Current Volume

Windscript Volume 36, Spring 2020

Copies are also available through the SWG office for $5. We reserve the right to limit the number of copies per person. We hope you enjoy reading the remarkable poetry and stories from the high school students whose works were selected!


The Windscript Vol. 36 launch took place online over Zoom and Facebook Live as part of the Cathedral Village Arts Festival. 24 young writers contributed to this year's issue, three of whom were awarded for their creative pieces of writing, and three who were noted as honourable mentions.

Many thanks go to Tara Gereaux for editing this volume. Thanks to each and every student who sent in their work, and to Saskatchewan's teachers and librarians who encourage student writing.

Congratulations to the 2019 Award Winners!

Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry: Adolescence by Sohila Elgedawi
Honourable Mention: Karachi Bazaar by Warsha Mushtaq

Jerrett Enns Award for Prose: A Cup of Black Breakfast Tea by Sarah-Marie Nadeau
Honourable Mention: Cutting Remorse by Kamryn Heavin

Currie-Hyland Prize for Poetry: and Red all over by Emily Zbaraschuk
Honourable Mention: You are Ours by Brontë Slote


Windscript has been publishing the best of Saskatchewan high school students' literature since 1983. Windscript was created by Victor Jerrett Enns, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild from 1982 to 1988. His enthusiasm and determination kept the magazine alive in its first two years until permanent funding could be found. For twenty-one years the magazine was distributed free to all high schools and libraries in the province. By 2004 funding sources were no longer available and the print publishing of the magazine was replaced by electronic versions through the Guild’s website. In 2011, due to popular demand from students and teachers, as well as offering it online, the Guild managed to publish this magazine for promising young writers in print form once again. 

Archived Volumes

Windscript Volume 35, 2019

Windscript Volume 34, 2018

Windscript Volume 33, 2017

Windscript Volume 32, 2016

Windscript Volume 31, 2015

Windscript Volume 30, 2014

Windscript Volume 29, 2013

Windscript Volume 28, 2012

Windscript Volume 27, 2011

Windscript Volume 26, 2009

Windscript Volume 25, 2008

Windscript Volume 24, 2007

Windscript Volume 23, 2006

Windscript Volume 22, 2005

Windscript Awards

Jerrett Enns Awards

The Jerrett Enns Awards are two awards of excellence for high school student writing in poetry and prose named in honour of Victor Jerrett Enns, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild from 1982 to 1988. A third award for art was discontinued in 1996. Today, the poetry and prose awards continue to be presented, as well as an Honourable Mention in each category.

2011 - Alyssa Prudat  (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Kenton DeJon (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2012 - Elliece Ramsey (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Paige Mitchell (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2013 - Amy Baldwin (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Emily Moore (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2014 - Wyatt Bachman (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Jessie Chamberlain (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2015 - Gloria Sun (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
            Leanne Dombowsky (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2016 - Mairyn Rackow (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
            Andrew Adair (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2017 - Ashley Harder (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Kendall Bistretzan (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2018 - Meghan Reyda-Molnar (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Tia Pechawis (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2019 - Trinity Squirrel (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Rebekah Fehr (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
2020 - Sohila Elgedawi (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)
           Sarah-Marie Nadeau (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)
Currie-Hyland Prize

The Currie-Hyland Prize is awarded for excellence in poetry to a high school writer living outside Regina or Saskatoon. This award was established in 1992 by the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild and the literary community of Moose Jaw as a tribute to Robert Currie and Gary Hyland in recognition of the literary excellence they achieved in their many published works and to acknowledge their commitment and generosity to their students and fellow writers.
2011 - Zane Adam
2012 - Sarah J. Houghtaling
2013 - Shanae Blaquiere
2014 - Amy Baldwin
2015 - Sam Letendre
2016 - Brooklyn Denton
2017 - Tiana Lafreniere
2018 - Chad Kitchen
2019 - Annika Olson
2020 - Emily Zbaraschuk

For more information, please contact:

Cat Abenstein
Program Coordinator

Tel: (306) 791-7746

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (