» The John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards

This award was created in honour of the distinguished Saskatchewan poet John V. Hicks.

* * * * *

The John V. Hicks Manuscript Awards program of the SWG recognizes three unpublished book-length manuscripts annually. The award rotates between the genres of poetry, fiction, and literary non-fiction. In 2019, the genre will be fiction.

Prizes are as follows: 1st place:  $1,000; 2nd place: $650; 3rd place: $350. The winners will read from their work at the John V. Hicks Awards at SWG's annual Fall Conference (expenses paid).

Deadline: Submissions must be postmarked by the last working day of June each year.

In 2019, the deadline is June 28. If you are sending material close to this date, please consider Xpress Post, Priority Post, courier, or special delivery. Late submissions will not be accepted.

NEW: John V. Hicks Award Application Form - Fillable

John V. Hicks Award Application Form - Word

To submit:

  1. Entries must be submitted by or postmarked by June 28, 2019.
  2. A $25 entry fee must accompany the entry. Make cheques and money orders payable to the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild, or pay online through PayPal.
  3. New: We will accept a pdf file by email to or by mail on a digital memory stick. We will not accept Word documents, paper copies, or faxes.


  1. Entrants must be Saskatchewan residents as of December 31, 2018.
  2. Only one entry per person is allowed in the manuscript awards.
  3. All entries must be original work. If the work is an adaptation of material not in the public domain, permission of the original creator must accompany the entry.
  4. Copyright for the entry remains with the author.
  5. No more than 50% of the manuscript may have been published in magazines and anthologies or by broadcast media.
  6. The manuscript must be a full-length work: a minimum of 48 pages of poetry or prose poetry and may be a collection for children or adults.
  7. The writer’s name and contact information should appear in the cover letter only. All entries will be numbered upon receipt so that they may be judged anonymously. If the writer’s name appears on any page of the manuscript, it will not be accepted for the competition. The name of the manuscript may appear on both the cover page and subsequent pages.
  8. There is an application form that must be submitted with the manuscript. The application form must be submitted separately from the manuscript (one pdf for the application and one pdf for the manuscript).
  9. The following submission criteria must be followed or the entries will not be accepted:
    • Entries must be in English
    • Use plain text fonts (e.g. Times New Roman, Arial, Courier) in black
    • 12 point font
    • At least a one inch margin on all sides
    • The title and page number must appear on each page 
    • The Manuscript PDF must be seperate from the application form! There should be two documents on your memory stick or in your email - the manuscript, and the form.
  10. The jury may decide not to award a particular prize if they believe none of the submissions merits it.
  11. The decisions of the jury will be final.
  12. Winners agree to permit the use of their name and title of their work in promotion by the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild.
  13. Winners agree to acknowledge the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild in any publication of the winning works.

Mailing Address

Saskatchewan Writers' Guild
Box 3986
Regina, SK  S4P 3R9

Courier Or Drop-Off Address

Saskatchewan Writers' Guild
Suite 100-1150 8th Avenue
Regina, SK  S4R 1C9

NEW: John V. Hicks Award Application Form - Fillable

John V. Hicks Award Application Form - Word

For more information: Contact Program Manager at: 306.791.7743 or

Past Recipients:

2018 (Poetry)

  • Katherine Lawrence (Saskatoon)
  • Shannon McConnell (Saskatoon)
  • Joy M. Brown (Regina)

2017 (Literary Non-Fiction)

  • Dauna Ditson (Regina)
  • Lois Simmie (Saskatoon)
  • Debby Adair (Regina)

2016 (Fiction)

  • Leona Theis (Saskatoon)
  • Sheri Benning (Regina)
  • James Trettwer (Regina)

2015 (Poetry)

  • Katherine Lawrence (Saskatoon)
  • Gerald Hill (Regina)
  • Carla Barkman (Regina)

2014 (Literary Non-Fiction)

  • Robert Calder (Saskatoon)
  • dee Hobsbawn-Smith (Saskatoon)
  • Lloyd Ratzlaff (Saskatoon)
2013 (Fiction)
  • Linda Biasotto (Regina)
  • Lisa Guenther (Livelong)
  • Marliss Wesseler (Regina)
2012 (Poetry)
  • Andrea Ledding (Saskatoon)
  • Mari-Lou Rowley (Saskatoon)
  • Bruce Rice (Regina)
2011 (Literary Non-Fiction)
  • Joanne Webber (Regina)
  • Leona Theis (Saskatoon)
  • Andrea Ledding (Saskatoon)
2010 (Drama)
  • Mansel Robinson (Saskatoon)
  • B.D. Miller (Regina)
  • Rodney McLean (Regina)
2009 (Fiction)
  • Terry Jordan (Saskatoon)
  • Anne Patton (Regina)
  • Bernice Friesen (Saskatoon)
2008 (Poetry)
  • Jennifer Still (Saskatoon)
  • Bruce Rice (Regina)
  • Shelley A. Leedahl (Middle Lake)
2007 (Literary Non-Fiction)
  • Sally Crooks (Regina)
  • Ted Dyck (Shaunavon)
  • Ven Begamudré (Regina)
2006 (Drama)
  • Barbara Sapergia (Saskatoon)
  • Gordon Portman (Regina)
  • Geoffry Ursell (Saskatoon)
2005 (Fiction)
  • Brenda Baker (Saskatoon)
  • Byrna Barclay (Regina)
2004 (Poetry)
  • Daniel Scott Tysdal (Moose Jaw)
2003 (Literary Non-Fiction)
  • Robert Calder (Saskatoon)
  • Pat Krause (Regina)
  • Allan Safarik (Dundurn)
2002 (Drama)
  • Pam Bustin (Saskatoon)
  • Mansel Robinson (Saskatoon)
2001 (Fiction)
  • Shelley Leedahl (Saskatoon)
  • Dave Margoshes (Regina)
  • Joan Olson (Regina)
2000 (Poetry)
  • Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen (Saskatoon)
  • Gerald Hill (Regina)
  • Ken Howe (Regina)
This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (