» The Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence

Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg

The Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence recognizes Saskatchewan writers who have written a substantial body of literary work and had a significant impact on writing in Saskatchewan. The prize consists of an award of $10,000 donated by Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg and a framed print of a work of art by Saskatchewan artist Dorothy Knowles. The presentation is made annually in Saskatoon in the fall and is co-hosted by the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild and Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg, who present the award.

This prestigious award was established in May 2010 by Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg, lawyers by profession, but philanthropists at heart. The three Honorary Patrons of the Award are the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, the Mayor of the City of Saskatoon, and the President of the University of Saskatchewan.


Nominations for this award must be received at the SWG office by 4:30 pm on June 30 annually. (If this falls on a weekend or holiday, the following workday will be accepted.)

Nomination Form - Word
Nomination Form - Fillable PDF

Please download and save the form before filling it out.


The award winner must have written a substantial body of literary work and have made a significant impact on writing in Saskatchewan.


1. Writers must be Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents whose principal place of residence has been Saskatchewan for the last 5 full years or who have spent at least 10 years of their writing careers in Saskatchewan.

2. Writers who have written books in the following genres will be considered:

  • Fiction
  • Poetry
  • Drama
  • Non-fiction

3. Books may have been published anywhere in the world.

4. The prize will be a cash award of $10,000, and a commemorative print of a painting by Saskatchewan artist Dorothy Knowles.

5. There shall only be one award given each year, although an award will not necessarily be given each year.

6. The award shall not be made posthumously unless the writer was alive at the time of selection. 

Nomination Process

Nominations will be accepted from the general public, publishers, and writing organizations. There is no limit to the number of nominations an organization can submit. All nominations and their supporting material are considered confidential.

Nominations consist of a completed Nomination Form and a maximum of 10 pages of support material outlining the nominee’s accomplishments, as follows: 

  • Biographical sketch. 
  • A list of published works and their original publishers and dates of publication.
  • Awards received. 

Please do not send books or letters of support. We ask that nominators please DO NOT inform the nominee of his or her nomination.

To Submit:

Please send full nomination package (nomination form + supporting materials max of 10 pages) to by 4:30 pm on June 30. Nominations may also be mailed to Saskatchewan Writers' Guild, PO Box 3986, Regina, SK or dropped off at the Guild office at Suite 100 - 1150 8th Ave, Regina. 

If this date falls on a weekend or holiday, the next business day is accepted. Nominations received after that date will automatically be considered for the following year. If the nominee is not selected in a given year, the nomination will be kept on file for consideration for future awards for 3 years.


The jury shall consist of three prominent Canadian literary figures, one of whom may be from Saskatchewan. The others must be from out-of-province. The jury will remain anonymous and its selection of a recipient will be final.


The presentation will be made annually in Saskatoon in the fall by the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild. Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg will present the award.


2019 - Arthur Slade

2018 - Sylvia Legris

2017 - Trevor Herriot

2016 - Yann Martel

2015 - David Carpenter

2014 - Sandra Birdsell

2013 - Dianne Warren

2012 - Sharon Butala

2011 - Lorna Crozier

2010 - Guy Vanderhaeghe

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (