» Hyland Volunteer Award

The Volunteer Leadership Award was established to recognize the many achievements of Saskatchewan Writers' Guild members through their volunteer support of the Saskatchewan literary community.

In 2007 the Guild Board changed the name to the Hyland Volunteer Award, named after Gary Hyland who, through volunteer efforts on behalf of the Guild and within the community of Moose Jaw, made a significant contribution to the Saskatchewan writing community. He received the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal and was made a Member of the Order of Canada in recognition of these contributions.

2018 Hyland Nomination Form


  • The recipient must be an SWG member and a resident of the province.
  • Recognition is for volunteer contributions made within the writing community on a local, provincial, or national level.
  • The nominee must be a volunteer in the writing community for a minimum period of five years. This can include former SWG Directors, volunteers for the SWG office and events (working booths, hosting, etc.), or volunteers in the community itself, such as people that devote time and energy to helping other writers, or fostering the community.
  • The nominee must have provided outstanding service to the growth and development of the Writers’ Guild and the writing community through their volunteer commitment. 
  • A maximum of two awards will be presented in any year. No award will be presented should the Board decide that a recipient cannot be selected from the nominations put forth.
  • Awards will not be made posthumously.
  • The award is meant to recognize the outstanding contributions of people that volunteer to the writing community and the SWG organization.

Nomination Letter

Nominators are asked to submit a letter as well as the prepared nomination form. This letter should include a description of the nominee's involvement in the Writers' Guild or the writing community. The description should be as complete as possible, since it will be used as the basis for the nomination.

The letter should include the following:

  • the particular role played by the recipient in the SWG.
  • impact of the contribution on the growth and development of the Guild and the writing community.

Applications should be typed.

2018 Hyland Nomination Form

Previous Winners of the Hyland Volunteer Award (previously the SWG Volunteer Leadership Award)

Lois Simmie
Lynda Monahan
Dave Glaze
Robert Calder
Gerald Hill
Brenda Baker
Byrna Barclay
Sharon Butala
Robert Currie
Regine Haensel
Gary Hyland
William Klebeck
Pat Krause
Alison Lohans
Dave Margoshes
Judy McCrosky
Ken Mitchell
Brenda Niskala
James Romanow

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (