About the SWG

» Announcement John V. Hicks Award Winners

« Back

The SWG is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards for Non-Fiction:   

First place:  Dauna Ditson for Wide Open

Second place: Lois Simmie for Finding My Way

Third place: Debby Adair for Little Wonders


Judges Ted Barris and Susan Olding selected the three winners - who will receive $1,000, $650, and $350, respectively.


About the judges:

Susan Olding is the author of Pathologies: A Life in Essays. Her writing has won a National Magazine Award, and has appeared in The Bellingham Review, The L.A. Review of Books, Maisonneuve, River Teeth, The Malahat Review, The New Quarterly, the Utne Reader, and in many anthologies, including Best Canadian Essays, 2016 and In Fine Form, 2nd Edition.

Ted Barris is an award-winning journalist, author, and broadcaster. Since the 1970s, his writing has regularly appeared in the national press. He has also worked as host/contributor for most CBC Radio network programs. He is a full-time professor of journalism at Toronto’s Centennial College. Barris is the author of 18 bestselling nonfiction books. In June 2014, The Great Escape: A Canadian Story won the Libris Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award. In 2011, he was one of 19 civilians presented with the Minister of Veterans’ Affairs Commendation. In 2012, he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

The awards will be officially presented at the John V. Hicks Luncheon, which will be held on Saturday, October 21, 2017 during the SWG’s Fall Conference and AGM, at 11:45 a.m. at the Travelodge, 4177 Albert St. in Regina. The luncheon is open to the public; pre-registration is required. 

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (