About the SWG

» Winners Announced for the 2018 John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Award for Poetry

« Back

The SWG is pleased to announce that the winners of the 2018 John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards for Poetry are:

First place: Katherine Lawrence for Homebodies
Second place: Shannon McConnell for The Burden of Gravity
Third place: Joy M. Brown for Heavy

The three—who receive $1,000, $650, and $350, respectively—were selected by judges Armand Garnet Ruffo and Kayla Czaga.

Honourable Mentions are:

Gerry Hill for Time Zones: A Brief History of Stan Still
Bruce Rice for Human River: The Life and Photographs of Vivian Maier
Barbara Klar for The Fox House

The awards will be officially presented at the John V. Hicks Luncheon, which will be held on Saturday, October 20, 2018 during the SWG’s Fall Conference and AGM at the Park Town Hotel, 924 Spadina Cres E, in Saskatoon. As part of the program, the three winners will read from their work. This luncheon is open to the public but pre-registration is required. Visit skwriter.com/home/820 for tickets.

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (