About the SWG

» 2019 John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards Winners

« Back

The SWG is pleased to announce that the winners of the 2019 John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards in Fiction are:    

First place:  Karin Melberg Schwier for Violet

Second place: Tim Blackett for Grandview Drive

Third place: Beth Goobie for The Good Intentions Emporium

The three winners - who receive $1,000, $650, and $350, respectively - were selected by judges Elisabeth de Mariaffi and Rabindranath Maharaj.

Honourable Mention: dee hobsbawn-smith for Dryland Diaries

The awards will be officially presented at the John V. Hicks Award Luncheon, which will be held on Saturday, October 19th during the SWG’s Fall Conference and AGM at the Regina Travelodge Hotel in Regina. As part of the program, the three winners will read from their work. This luncheon is open to the public, and tickets are available on our website

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture
site by Rio Saxon Design Inc. (