« Back

This item has expired!

2015 City of Regina Writing Award Reception

When: Monday, May 25 | 7:30 pm

Where: Travelodge Hotel & Conference Centre | 4177 Albert Street S

SWG Congratulates Medrie Purdham on winning the 36th Annual City of Regina Writing Award! 

You are invited to the reception honouring Medrie Purdham, winner of 2015 City of Regina Writing Award, and runners-up Tara Gereaux and Cassidy McFadzean. The event will feature a reading by the awarded writer. Admission is free and everyone is welcome. Complimentary refreshments will be served and there will be a cash bar.  


Medrie Purdham has lived in Regina since 2007 and teaches at the University of Regina. Her poetry has appeared in journals across the country, including The Malahat Review, The New Quarterly, Fiddlehead, Grain, CV2, The Antigonish Review, Event and Matrix. She has been anthologized in The Best Canadian Poetry 2012 and The Best Canadian Poetry 2014 (Tightrope) and a suite of her poems was broadcast on the CBC radio program Sound XChange, hosted by Kelley Jo Burke.


The judges for 2015 City of Regina Writing Award were Jonathan Ball and Aislinn Hunter:

Jonathan Ball holds a PhD in English and is the author of five books. He also directed two short films, edited the journals dANDelion and The Maelstrom (which he founded), and writes the humour columns “Haiku Horoscopes” and “What Rappers Are Saying.” In 2014, he won the John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer. He lives online at www.jonathanball.com, where he writes about writing the wrong way.

Aislinn Hunter is the author of six books in three genres. Her most recent is a novel, The World Before Us, which was listed in amazon.ca’s ‘Top 10 Canadian Books’ of 2014. Her two collections of poetry have been collectively shortlisted for 5 awards and Into the Early Hours won the Gerald Lampert. Her first novel Stay was turned into a film starring Taylor Schilling and Aidan Quinn. You can find her at www.aislinnhunter.com or on twitter @AislinnHunter.

The award is sponsored by the City of Regina


« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture