Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

« Back

Short Grain Winners announced!

Winners of Grain Magazine’s 26th Annual Short Grain (with Variations) Contest

August 18th, 2014:  Boy, oh boy did our judges have a tough time this year! But after careful consideration the results are in and we’re pleased as punch to announce this year’s Short Grain Contest winners. Our judges this year were Kathleen Winter (Fiction), and Ken Babstock (Poetry).

Congratulations to the winners!


1st Prize :   “Dog-at-Large” by Dennis Porsnuk
2nd Prize :  “Fernando’s Finger” by Jane Stevensen
3rd Prize :   “Getting Along” by Chad Durling

Honorable mentions: “Scorpion Tattoo” by Ashley Little and “Badly Drawn Star” by Dave Pescod


1st Prize: “Take the first left and it’s two blocks down” by Michael Prior
2nd Prize: “The Mountaineer by Cassidy McFadzean
3rd Prize:  “Cumulative Exposure” by Danielle Janess

Honorable mentions: “Ophrydium Versatile” by Brent Raycroft and “50 infinity” by Danielle Janess

The judges’ comments as well as the winning entries will be published in Grain’s Winter 2014 issue, 42.2.

Contest prizes donated in part by Cheryl & Henry KloppenburgBarristers and Solicitors, Saskatoon.

For more information on the history of Grain, and a list of past Short Grain winners, check out the Grain website

« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture