Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

« Back

New Saskatchewan Poet Laureate Announced

The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild is delighted to announce that Judith Krause of Regina is the new Poet Laureate of Saskatchewan. Judith's term will begin January 1, 2014 and will run until December 31, 2015.

Judith Krause is a Regina poet, editor and educator whose publications include four books of poetry and a collaborative chapbook. A fifth collection tentatively entitled Homage to Happiness is slated for publication in the fall of 2014. Judith has studied writing in Canada, France, and the US where she completed an MFA in Creative Writing. Her work has appeared online or in print in Canada, the US and in Ireland. She is a two-time winner of the City of Regina Writing Award and co-winner of the Ralph Gustafson Poetry Award.

In choosing the new Poet Laureate, the Selection Committee believes it is important that Poet Laureate have “meaningful connections with other writers and experience organizing occasions for thinking about poetry differently.” While the Committee trusts that Judith Krause possesses the qualities needed for the position, they recognize that her extensive teaching experience at SIAST, Fort San and Sage Hill provides her with additional experience in communicating poetry.

Krause is the fifth person to hold the title of Poet Laureate; her four predecessors were Glen Sorestad (2000-2004), Louise B. Halfe (2005-2006), Robert Currie (2007-2010), and Donald Kerr (2010-2012).

Commencing in 2000, the Saskatchewan Poet Laureate Program was the first provincial program of its kind in Canada.  The Saskatchewan Arts Board, Saskatchewan Book Awards and the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild are partners in the program, which is under the patronage of the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, Her Honour the Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield.


For more information:  
Tracy Hamon
SWG Program Manager
Tel: (306) 791-7743



« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture