Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

« Back

Leona Theis' story "High Beams" is to appear in The Journey Prize Stories 26

The SWG is pleased to announce that Leona Theis’ story ”High Beams” is to appear in The Journey Prize Stories 26, available from McClelland & Stewart on October 7. “High Beams” was first published by Grain Magazine in Volume 41.1. You can read the first few paragraphs here.

The Journey Prize Stories has established itself as one of the most prestigious anthologies in the country, introducing readers to the finest emerging Canadian writers from coast to coast. The anthology sets itself apart from others in that it comprises a selection of stories that editors of literary publications from across the country have chosen as what, in their view, is the most exciting writing in English that they have published in the previous year.

Leona Theis is the author of the story collection Sightlines and the novel The Art of Salvage. She won the 2006 CBC Literary Award for Creative Non-fiction. Her story “High Beams” will become the first chapter of a novel-in-stories. The story that might become the second chapter, “How Sylvie Failed to Become a Better Person through Yoga,” was longlisted for the Vanderbilt—Exile Award. Recently, Leona completed work on a second novel, The Originals.

« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture