Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

« Back

Recipients of the John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards Announced

The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild (SWG) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 15th Annual John V. Hicks Long Manuscript Awards.  

The first place winner is Robert Calder for Gonzalo Guerrero: Father of the Mexican; the second place winner dee Hobsbawn-Smith for Bread & Water: Essays; the third place winner is Lloyd Ratzlaff for Bindy’s Moon: A Sojournal.  The three—who receive $1,000, $650, and $350, respectively—were selected by judges Tim Bowling and Lori A. May. Honourable Mention this year goes to Cassidy McFadzean for Curious Cabinet.

Named in honour of the eminent Saskatchewan poet who died in 1999, the awards recognize excellence in unpublished book-length manuscripts by Saskatchewan writers. They rotate between the genres of poetry, fiction, drama, and literary non-fiction; this year fiction submissions were honoured.  

The awards will be officially presented at the John V. Hicks Dinner, which will be held on Saturday, October 25, 2014 during the SWG’s Fall Conference and AGM, in partnership with the Ânskohk Aboriginal Festival at the Park Town, 924 Spadina Crescent in Saskatoon. As part of the program, the three winners will read from their work. This dinner is open to the public; pre-registration is required by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, October 17, 2014. 

For more information or to register call: 306.791.7746.

Judges Bios:

Tim Bowling is the author of two works of nonfiction, four novels, and twelve collections of poetry. His work has earned him a Guggenheim fellowship, two Writers' Trust of Canada nominations, two Governor General's Award nominations, and five Alberta Book Awards. Born and raised south of Vancouver, he has lived in Edmonton for the past twenty years, where he continues to write in various genres, teaches English, and helps to parent three children. His latest novel is The Tinsmith (Brindle & Glass 2012) and his Selected Poems appeared with Nightwood Editions in 2013.

Lori A. May is the author of Square Feet and The Low-Residency MFA Handbook: A Guide for Prospective Creative Writing Students. Her sixth book, The Write Crowd: Literary Citizenship & The Writing Life, is forthcoming from Bloomsbury in December 2014. Lori writes across the genres and her work may be found in publications such as The Atlantic, Brevity, Midwestern Gothic, and Writer's Digest. Lori teaches in the creative nonfiction MFA program at the University of King’s College-Halifax. For more info, visit her website at

The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild, founded in 1969, is a province-wide non-profit organization serving almost 600 member writers. The SWG works to create an environment in which writing and writers flourish, by fostering excellence in writing, by raising the public profile of writers and their work, and by making writers and their work accessible to all levels of education.

« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture