Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

« Back

Saskatchewan Authors Scoop Governor General Literary Award Winners

November 16, 2010


Saskatchewan, once “land of living skies”, is now the land of award-winning authors. The year 2010 has been monumental for many Saskatchewan writers.

Today the Canada Council for the Arts announced Dianne Warren, Allan Casey and Coteau Books were each winners in the 2010 Governor General's Literary Awards, worth $25,000 each.  On November 10, Arthur Slade won the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award for fiction at the ceremony.

Glen Sorestad and Sandra Birdsell were appointed Members to the Order of Canada this past June, and in September Guy Vanderhaege received the first Cheryl & Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence, an award that celebrates writers who have a large Saskatchewan connection. Sandra Birdsell was also on the shortlist in the Governor General’s Literary Awards.

And like all horizon’s, our award-winning writing never ends. “Here in Saskatchewan we have some of the best writers in the world,” says SWG President, Cathy Fenwick. “On behalf of the readers of the world I thank all of our winners and nominees for their dedication to a writing vocation and for their award winning contributions to our literary landscape.”

The Governor General's Literary Awards are given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language book in each of the seven categories of Fiction, Literary Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Children's Literature (text), Children's Literature (illustration) and Translation (from French to English).

Each laureate receives $25,000 and a specially crafted copy of the winning book. In addition, publishers of winning titles receive a $3,000 grant for the promotion of the prize-winning book. The Saskatchewan Writer’s Guild is inordinately proud of all of our writers and their success.

« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture