Contact Us | Member Login »

» News

News Archives

« Back

Guy Vanderhaeghe Announced as Winner of Cheryl & Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Achievement

For Immediate Release
September 8, 2010


At the Award ceremony held at the Saskatoon Club on September 8, 2010, Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg, together with the SWG President Jerry Haigh announced Guy Vanderhaeghe as the recipient of the first Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence.

This new literary award was established in May 2010 by Saskatoon residents and donors, Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg: “Henry and I have long believed that Saskatchewan writers were insufficiently recognized. The establishment of this literary award was our opportunity to try to offer a solution,” said Cheryl Kloppenburg. The award consists of a $10,000 prize and a print of a watercolour donated by noted Saskatchewan artist Dorothy Knowles to the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild celebrating the establishment of the Award.   

Guy Vanderhaeghe, this year’s Kloppenburg Award recipient, was born in Saskatchewan in 1951. He is the author of three short story collections and four novels.  Man Descending (1982), his first book, won the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction and his novel Homesick (1989) was a co-winner of the City of Toronto Book Award. The Englishman's Boy (1996), a national bestseller in Canada won the Governor General's Award for Fiction, the Saskatchewan Book Award for Fiction and Book of the Year, and was shortlisted for The Giller Prize and the prestigious International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.
The Last Crossing (2002), Vanderhaeghe’s most recent novel, won four Saskatchewan book awards, and received the Libris Fiction Book of the Year award. While Vanderhaeghe has devoted his time to fulltime writing, he occasionally teaches creative writing at the University of Saskatchewan in
The jury was very pleased to recommend Guy Vanderhaeghe as a highly worthy recipient of the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence. The jury noted that among the nominations for this award, he keeps company with many respected and beloved writers whose writing has been informed by their experience in Saskatchewan. In recommending Guy Vanderhaeghe, the jury recognizes that he has produced a distinguished body of writing that has garnered recognition nationally and internationally. In addition to displaying a mastery of craft, his writing has contributed to a deeper understanding and appreciation not only of Saskatchewan and the culture of the prairies, but of the human condition. 

The administration of the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence - including the selection of the jury - has been done by an Advisory Committee of the SWG comprising the President Jerry Haigh, the Executive Director, Judith Silverthorne, and Committee Chair, Bob Calder. The trustee of the fund for the Award is the Saskatoon Community Foundation.

“Members of Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild have long known that our home is a hotbed of wonderful writing. Authors from every corner of the province have shown this many times. With this generous award by Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg we have another way to recognize our own,” said Haigh.
The Kloppenburg Award’s honorary patrons His Honour the Honourable Dr. Gordon L. Barnhart, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, His Worship Donald J. Atchison, Mayor of Saskatoon, and Peter McKinnon, President of the University of Saskatchewan, also attended the ceremony.


For more information about the Award, please see this web page: Kloppenburg Award

For more information contact:
Judith Silverthorne, Executive Director
Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild
Tel: (306) 791-7742

« Back

This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture