About the SWG

» 2017 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence recipient

« Back

The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild congratulates Trevor Herriot on receiving the 2017 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence


The Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild was proud to host the luncheon award ceremony for the Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence on September 19, 2017 at the German Cultural Centre, 160 Cartwright St. East, Saskatoon. Jack Walton, President of SWG, emceed the event and Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg presented the award to Trevor Herriot. Her Honour the Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, brought greetings and congratulations. Trevor Herriot gave a short thank you speech after the announcement.

The award honours a Saskatchewan writer who has written a substantial body of acclaimed literary work. It carries a prize of $10,000 and a framed limited edition print of a painting by Saskatchewan artist Dorothy Knowles.

Jury Citation: “"Trevor Herriot takes as his subject matter the land we live on and live off, that which our modern society, blinded by colonial arrogance and corporate greed, has so sought to dominate and push into the background, to our loss, personal and collective. With wisdom and grace, with a head for facts but a poet's heart, with an attention to scientific detail yet a willingness to soar into the transcendental, with a voice that is personal but has a universal resonance, Herriot tells us that natural history--those birds, that river--is our history, that we cannot escape it, nor should we want to. He seeks to bring us back to a sound relationship with the land, and succeeds in ways that are moving and memorable. In awarding the 2017 Kloppenburg Award to Trevor Herriot, we heartily agree with the judgement of one critic: that he is the pre-eminent prairie naturalist of his generation.”

This prestigious award was established in May 2010 by Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg, lawyers by profession, but philanthropists at heart. The three Honorary Patrons of the Award are: Her Honour the Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan; His Worship Charlie Clark, Mayor of the City of Saskatoon, and Dr. Peter Stoicheff, President of the University of Saskatchewan. All were present for the occasion, along with a number of other distinguished guests.

The Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence is one of the most lucrative provincial awards in Canada. 

Biography of the 2017 Winner

Trevor Herriot is the author of several award-winning books, including Grass, Sky, Song and the national bestseller River in a Dry Land, both of which short-listed for the Governor General’s Award for Non-fiction. His fifth book, Towards a Prairie Atonement, was published in October 2016 and took two Saskatchewan Book Awards. A book of his essays will accompany the photographs of Branimir Gjetvaj in Islands of Grass, to be released in the fall of 2017. He has also published essays and articles in The Globe & Mail, Brick, Border Crossings, Canadian Geographic, and several anthologies.

Herriot is a grassland advocate and a naturalist and illustrator. He posts regularly on Grass Notes (trevorherriot.blogspot.ca.), his web page on grassland culture and environmental issues. He is featured regularly on CBC Radio and is a frequent guest on the call-in show Blue Sky. He and his wife, Karen, live in Regina, have four adult children, and spend much of their time on a piece of Aspen Parkland prairie east of the city.


Contact: Tracy Hamon, Program Manager, Saskatchewan Writers' Guild
Phone: 306-791-7743


This website design and development made possible by Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture